Santry Sports

On Wednesday 4th June 2014, 32 of our school’s most talented athletes headed off to the Morton Stadium in Santry to compete in the annual Primary Schools sports. Nearly all of the children from 3rd -6th class had tried out for the teams when the trials were held back in March and those who made it on to the teams trained very hard for the next two months. We send relay teams in four age groups (boys and girls) and the fastest runner on each team competes in the individual sprint race as well.

On the day, each athlete ran to the best of their ability, two of our sprinters Athaliah Fubara (u 14) and Kyle O’Reilly (u12) ran brilliantly in their heats to qualify for their finals. Unfortunately neither made it on to the podium but the competition was particularly high this year and they should be very proud of their performances.

Our girls u10 team; Micaiah Fubara, Sarah Proudfoot, Daisy Cormican and Kate Giblin made into the final as did our boys u12 team; Liam Jenkins, Alex Biaroskin, Daniel Egan and Kyle O’Reilly. Those races were very close at the finish but sadly there were no medals of us here either. Better luck next year!

Just over a week previously Liam Jenkins (U12) had won a brilliant gold medal in the high jump at the field event day in Santry. Liam beat almost 50 athletes to be the outright winner when he equalled his personal best in a tight competition. An amazing achievement!

A big well done and congratulations is due to all of our teams. And thank-you to everyone for all of the effort you put into the training sessions. We want to acknowledge the hard work put in by the subs for each team, they did all the training but unfortunately did not make the final teams. They did however contribute hugely to the team effort.


Girls U10 Boys U10
Kate Gibin Adam Sheil
Maciah Fubara Conall Hodges
Sarah Proudfoot Jack Molony
Daisy Cormican Alex Mason
Sub: Isabelle Myhal, Lily Kirwan Sub: Alex Andrei


Girls U11 Boys
Isabella Fagan Nicolo Casali
Ciara Cullen Gavin O’Carroll
Isabelle Rigney Ryan Geraghty
Cara Dockery Alex O’Sullivan
Sub: Matilde Freire Sub: Peter Quirke


Girls U12 Boys U12
Ciara Carey Kyle O’Reilly
Juliet Doyle Alex Biaroskin
Aoife Tune Liam Jenkins
Ellie Breum Daniel Brandon
Sub: Jenny Crowe


Sub: Darragh Egan
Girls U14 Boys U14
Athaliah Fubara David Molony
Lorna Doherty Jack Palmer
Hannah Proudfoot Callum McDonald
Jasmine Sheridan Rory Giblin